TotalVictory

Integrated Wellness

Keeping It On The Rails

Have you ever found that when your day gets off to a rough start that things tend to keep getting worse if allowed to? Suppose you sleep in (as I did this morning), miss your workout (yep), realize you’re out of eggs (crap), find the road is closed due to a major accident on the way to the grocery store (WTF!? I hope everyone is ok!), and unchecked it just keeps spiraling downward.

It’s important to realize that this is preventable.  I think what happens, consciously or otherwise, is we decide that we’re having a ‘bad day’.  We create that belief and then it becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.  In reality I don’t think there is such a thing as a bad day.  I think we get little off track and then compound things with unhelpful beliefs.

If I step back and look at it from a more spiritual perspective, I think the reason these events are taking place is because I have gotten off track a bit.  Yesterday I slipped back into lazy-passive mode as opposed to productive-on-top-of-things mode.  Many teachers (Abraham-Hicks comes to mind) have taught us that life give us contrasts so that we can choose which experience we want to live.  Seeing the difference between productive and lazy the choice is quite clear.

The trap in these situations is deciding we’re a victim of circumstance.  This is completely disempowering.  As long as the solution lies outside of ourselves we’re left waiting and hoping for things to change.  I remind myself that this is Earth School and that everything that happens here happens for a reason.  Everything is a lesson and an experience.

So when our day feels like it’s sliding into the abyss what do we do? I think whenever possible it’s wise to stop and take stock and see where things might be getting off track.  What is the lesson here? What is the Universe trying to tell me? Another good strategy is to, mentally or on paper, go through things we’re grateful for.  This shifts our focus away from what we don’t want toward what we do want.  I also find just having a good laugh at the Universe’s remarkable sense of humor to be quite beneficial at these times.

Ultimately we co-create our experience.  It’s up to us what we want that to look and feel like.

 

Leave a comment